The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

Standard

alchemistTitle: The Alchemist

Author: Paulo Coelho

Publisher: HarperOne

Publish Date: April 25, 2014 (first published 1988)

Pages: 182 pages


This book was given to me by a very good friend from work and she raved about The Alchemist. She said she has read this book a million times and she always felt the same awe after she reads it. I became curious about the book and decided to read it.


If you feel like you have no control over your life,

If you feel like everything is not going your way,

If you feel like you have lost sight of the true meaning of life,

If you have hit rock bottom and you feel like there is no hope,

If you’re held back from your ultimate dream,

If you are uncertain or worried about your future,

If you just need a reminder of the beauty of life,

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho is the book for you.


Some may say that the meaning behind the book is very obvious and wish that the translation was a little better and I totally agree. However, what I liked about the book is that it is a great reminder to always follow your dreams. It reminds us that the journey, not the destination, is important. It urges us to never give up when trials come your way because anything worth having won’t come easy.

I mean, the book is a very big cliché, but what really intrigued me is when it started mentioning The Philosopher’s Stone that can transform large quantities of metal into gold and The Elixir of Life that kept the Alchemist from growing old.

DOES THIS NOT RING A BELL TO YOU? CAUSE IT SURELY DOES TO ME!

*coughs* J.K. Rowling *coughs*

I am obviously not certain, but this really made me happy for I am a HUGE Harry Potter Fanatic!


Overall, The Alchemist was a good read. I wish I finished it sooner though. Nevertheless, I am thankful to have read this for I needed a reminder myself.

When a person really desires something, all the universe conspires to help that person to realize his dreams.

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

