A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Standard

A monster calls

Title: A Monster Calls

Author: Patrick Ness

Inspiration: Siobhan Dowd

Illustrated: No

Publisher: Candlewick Press

Published: August 4, 2015

Pages: 240 pages


After reading A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, I remember lying in bed thinking, “What just happened? What did I do to myself?”

The book is extremely haunting not because of living monsters. No. It is haunting because of the monsters that dwell inside the body — inside a person’s mind.

You really aren’t afraid, are you?

“No,” Conor said. “Not of you, anyway.”

You will be, it said. Before the end.

Patrick Ness is a master puppeteer and I, the puppet. He knew exactly how to tug the strings to make the reader feel certain emotions. He easily manipulated my emotions from being scared, hurt, feeling betrayed, happy, to ugly crying in a heartbeat. His words were raw, powerful, and unrestrained.

Looking back, I don’t remember any description of Conor. However, that did not matter because somehow the author managed to put me, the reader, in Conor’s shoes. Suddenly, I was the teenager who’s feeling the grief, and pain, and suffering. I was suddenly sent back in time when I was feeling the same emotions.

Having no description of Conor did not matter because I was Conor.

Brilliantly scary.

A Monster Calls totally caught me off guard. This book is easily one of my best reads ever.

Do yourself a favor and read this book. Don’t do any research and don’t read any spoilers. Put your guard down and embrace vulnerability.

Rating: 5/5 stars

8 responses »

  1. Pingback: The Rest Of Us Just Live Here | Books In My Vein

Leave a Reply

