Spinning Starlight by R. C. Lewis

Standard

spinning starlight

Before I start my book review, here’s a little information and disclaimer about the book. The hardbound version of Spinning Starlight will be released on October 6th, 2015 at your favorite bookstore. Thanks to Disney Hyperion, I received an ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Let’s talk about the cover. If I am not mistaken, this book has a close resemblance to Stitching Snow; a retelling with a twist of Fantasy and Science Fiction. The sleeves also have the same feel and concept which makes both books a nice collectable. However, these two books are not connected in any way.

I keep on reading reviews stating that this book is a retelling of The Wild Swans. Having no background of the said book, my review is based purely on what I have read and what the author has made me feel with her words.


Have you ever had that feeling when you are not quite sure what you’re reading, but you like it anyway? That’s what I felt when I was reading Spinning Starlight by R.C. Lewis.

I mean, I had a gist of what the author was trying to do:

  • The main character, Liddi, was born in a big, influential family, with riches poor people only dream about.
  • Someone wanted her out of the way = plot to have main character kidnapped.
  • Missing brothers that need to be saved.
  • You can’t trust anyone.
  • Dead parents, missing brothers, a very young heir who can’t seem to figure out a solid plan to save her brothers until 80%-ish of the story.
  • Tiav, a very nice guy/love interest who is patient, understanding, has good morals, and is very unlike the recent circulating YA male characters who just wants to get laid.
  • A lot of confusing terminologies — or maybe I’m just dim-witted.
  • Sort of happily ever after in the end; main character takes back her company, saves most of her brothers, and she gets to keep her love interest.

At first, I could not seem to put the book down. Then came the different points, sci-fi-ish terminologies, too many names of the brothers that I could not seem to remember, too many races, and very few talking (you’ll get this reference when you start reading the book). These, for me, really slowed the plot down.

I did like a few things about what the author did. I like how the book made me think. I like how it has some gray areas like conspiracies, betrayals, murders, and much needed sarcasm. I love how the author ends every chapter with a short story of Liddi and her brothers. It really gives a characterization behind each brother; giving them life, making them not just another name in the book. I also appreciate how Liddi and Tiav’s story was not an insta-love. I felt that they have a connection and their relationship developed without any rush.

Overall, I like Spinning Starlight. It is one of the anticipated releases this year and I am sure most of the crowd would love it. If you love retellings, Sci-Fi books, and if you don’t mind keeping up with names and terminologies, this book is for you.

PS. I would like to thank my friend Sania for reading this book with me.

Rating: 3/5 stars

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken | Books In My Vein

Leave a Reply

